In addition to the fact sheet for The Mill below, we’ve created a packet of logos and photos for the media and our partners to use. If you need something else, please contact us.


2017: entrepreneurial programming begins

Nov 2018: membership-based coworking facility opens in Bloomington, IN


Our mission is to launch and accelerate startups.

Our vision is to become Indiana’s center of gravity for entrepreneurship.


We are a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, with operations funded by membership fees, event space rentals, and generous donations from corporate sponsors and angel investors from south-central Indiana.


The Mill is possible due to the generous support of our cornerstone sponsors: the City of Bloomington, Cook Group, and Indiana University.

A complete list of sponsors appears here.


The Mill is the heart of Bloomington’s entrepreneurial ecosystem and its largest coworking space, located downtown in the Trades District, in a renovated century-old factory building. We deliver programs that accelerate innovative ideas and technologies into business concepts and provide access to capacity-building resources and startup capital. Our programs and events serve members, the startup community, and the public.


The Mill has over 250 members and is the home of dozens of companies. Our  members include innovators creating startups and small businesses as well as independent freelancers, creatives, and remote workers. Some choose The Mill for our coworking amenities; others join for specialized entrepreneurial support for accelerating their startups, pitching to investors, and securing capital. 


Pat East, Executive Director

Previously, Pat founded and served as CEO of Hanapin Marketing, which was acquired by Brainlabs in February 2020.

For all staff, see here.



The Mill is powered by Velocities, a partnership between Bloomington, The Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce, and Elevate Ventures.  We are also proud to partner with IU Ventures, VisionTech, gener8tor, B-Start, and the Cook Center for Entrepreneurship. Learn more.


Michelle Cole, Chair | COO, Envisage Technologies*
Bryony Gomez-Palacio | Co-Founder and Principal, UnderConsideration LLC
John Hamilton | Mayor, City of Bloomington
Cindy Kinnarney | North Region President, German American Bank
Beka Mech | Senior Associate Director, Regional Development, IU Foundation
Jen Pearl | President and CEO, Bloomington Economic Development Corporation*
Tina Peterson | President and CEO, Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe County and CEO, Regional Opportunity Initiatives
Erin Predmore | President and CEO, The Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce*
Karin St. John | COO, St. John Associates
Ben Swanson | Co-Founder, Secretly Group
Ellie Symes | Co-Founder and CEO, The Bee Corp
Mike Trotzke | CEO, Cheddar*
Jennie Vaughan | Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College-Bloomington
Geng Wang | Co-Founder and CEO, Civic Champs
Jason Whitney | Associate Vice President, IU Ventures, and Executive Director, IU Angel Network*
Brad Wisler | Founder and CEO, Periodic
* Members of the Executive Committee